About the Citizens Awards

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation’s Citizens Awards recognize the most innovative and impactful corporate citizenship programs from businesses, chambers, and associations of all sizes.

Awards are given in six categories that honor businesses for specific strategic initiatives. Additionally, two companies that exemplify the highest ideals of corporate citizenship through their overall social impact portfolio are granted the Best Corporate Steward awards.

Established in 2000, the Citizens Awards document the living history of corporate philanthropy and social responsibility, serving as a repository of the private sector's ever-lasting impact on communities across the globe. 

The programs recognized through the Citizens Awards raise the bar on social responsibility and spearhead the transformation to a strong, healthy, and sustainable future. The Citizens Awards also serve as an inspiration for other companies to continue the momentum in creating a sustainable, prosperous, and more inclusive world.

Sponsorship opportunities are available. To learn more, contact Rebecca Mousseau at RMousseau@uschamber.com.

The Categories

  • Best Commitment to Education Program:
    This award category recognizes businesses that are making a significant impact in improving educational outcomes for students around the world.
  • Best Community Improvement Program:
    This award category recognizes businesses that have made significant contributions to improving and advancing local communities.
  • Best Disaster Response and Community Resilience Program:
    This award category recognizes businesses that have made significant contributions to building resilient communities by improving their ability to withstand and recover from disasters.
  • Best Economic Opportunity and Empowerment Program:
    This award category recognizes businesses that help create significant economic opportunity for people and communities around the world.
  • Best Health and Wellness Program:
    This award category recognizes businesses that are making a significant impact in improving the health of communities around the world.
  • Best Sustainability Program:
    This award category recognizes businesses that are committed to helping create a more sustainable future.
  • Best Corporate Steward:
    This award category recognizes businesses that are responsive and responsible members of society, and whose overall values, operational practices, and decision-making exemplify shared value.

Citizens Awards Overview

20 Years Later:
How Corporate Citizenship Has Changed

The Role of Purpose-Driven Businesses

The 2021 Judges

  • Anell Abreu, Advocacy Digital Engagement Officer, CARE
  • Nikita Barai, Assistant Professor, Division of General Internal Medicine; Associate Medical Director for Population Health, Internal Medicine Associates, Mount Sinai Hospital
  • Bea Boccalandro, Author of Do Good At Work and President, VeraWorks
  • Katherine Boatwright, Director of Operations, NOVAD
  • Aileen Carr, Director of Economic Security and Opportunity Initiative, Georgetown Center for Poverty and Inequality
  • Nathan Cummins, Great Plains Renewable Energy Strategy Director, The Nature Conservancy
  • Mike Dardaris, Senior Director, Stride (formerly K12)
  • Jeff Franco, CEO and Founder, Camino Consulting
  • Jonathan Grau, MHAW Solutions Lead, National Council for Behavioral Health
  • Melody Jackson, Business Development Client Manager, Ureeka
  • Andy Johnston, Vice President, Government Affairs, Grand Rapids Chamber of Commerce
  • Josh Kaplan, Manager, Education and Engagement, Renewable Energy Buyers' Alliance (REBA)
  • Kevin Kelley, Senior Director, Community Preparedness Programs, American Red Cross
  • Thomas Kirk, Manager, Climate Intelligence, Rocky Mountain Institute
  • Kate Kreamer, Deptuy Executive Director, Advance CTE
  • Madden Manion, Executive Director, Corporate Partnerships, CARE
  • Katie Mehin, Ecosystems Lead, Bright Hive
  • Lindsay Nichols, Vice President, Marketing and Communications, America's Charities
  • Aman Singh, GreenFin Newsletter Contributor, GreenBiz
  • Jeff Terry, Vice President, Corporate Social Responsibility & Sustainability, GAF Materials Corp.
  • Shandi Treloar, Private Sector Committee Chair, NEMA
  • Michelle Tulac, Local & Global Programs Manager, Ellen MacArthur Foundation
  • Carine Umuhumuza, Chief Communications and Creative Office, Malala Fund
  • Jeanne Wardford, Program Officer, W.G. Kellogg Foundation
  • Karen Wong, Senior Manager, Research and Evaluation, No Kid Hungry, Share Our Strength
  • Darren Woodruff, Senior Director, DeBruce Foundation